Board Election on 4/20/17

Elections for the next Board of Directors are coming up! Beginning today is the nomination period for prospective Directors. We are looking to fill three of our Board positions during this election (see the list of incumbents below).

We are an official 501(c)(3) and our current goals are to attract new members, interesting projects and exciting workshops to the new space. We need to build the community of makers and hackers that use our workshop. If you think you can help us achieve this very important objective, please consider running for the Board of Directors! A Director’s term is one year long.

The powers of the Board of Directors are explicitly laid out in the AHA Bylaws, and since Directors take responsibility for financial activities so they must:
- have no financial conflicts of interest
- make an unrestricted financial contribution each term
- engage with and support the standing committee activities of Fundraising (development), Financial (operations), and Governance.

Here’s the breakdown of important dates for elections: Today until April 16 at 11:59PM: Call for nominations. Interested in running for an AHA Board Member? You can nominate yourselves or others. Send an email to the mailing
list. Be sure to include the nominee’s name, current projects, and why they would be a great board member for AHA!

April 17 until April 20 at 7:00PM: Absentee voting. If you know you will miss the election, email the board for guidance on how to vote absentee.

April 20 7:00 PM to 10:00PM – Elections Party: We host a themed Build Night in which the goal is to build a Board! Converge on AHA at 7:00PM, eat potluck-style foods, and cast your ballot. We will tally votes promptly at 10:00PM.

April 20 at Midnight: Elected Board Members are put into place!

If you are a fully-paid Standard Member, Student Member, Coworker, or have a Staff Volunteer membership in April, you are entitled to vote.
You may become a member at any time up until the 20th if you would like to be counted for this election.

And here’s the current Board:
Corey Tebo (I) (resigned)
Greg Gage (I)
Tyler Worman (I)

Alex White
Nathan Yost

Incumbent Board Members who have completed their term are denoted by (I). We will be electing members to replace them during this election.

If you have questions or matters of a sensitive nature, you can email the current board directly at board at

Thank you, and see you for elections on April 20th at 7:00PM!

Be Sociable, Share!
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply